Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman Randy Hultgren

Representing the 14th District of ILLINOIS

Hultgren Announces Inaugural STEM Scholars Class

Sep 23, 2016
Press Release
Student ambassadors to visit food flavoring creators FONA International in Geneva

Washington, DC — U.S. Representative Randy Hultgren (IL-14) today announced his inaugural class of STEM Scholars from the 14th Congressional District. The new youth leadership program encourages highly-motivated and energetic high school students to become ambassadors in their communities for the possibilities provided by science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

Congressman Hultgren will join the STEM Scholars for their first meeting and hands-on learning experience at FONA International in Geneva. STEM Scholars will meet with experts in flavor chemistry, food science, sensory science, research and innovation as they create all manner of food flavors. The Scholars will have an opportunity to learn about FONA, the food industry and the science behind how we taste and experience food.  Scholars will devote their year interacting with other scholars and developing their advocacy and leadership skills to advance the understanding of the role science, math and technology play in their own future careers and communities.

“I am very excited to announce this talented and enthusiastic group of students who are interested in exploring and promoting science, technology, engineering and math,” said Rep. Hultgren. “These ambitious students are our next generation of innovative leaders, and I look forward to joining them at a creative and innovative manufacturer in the 14th District to see the results of STEM education in action. This kickoff event is just the first of monthly meetings I plan to have with these students over the course of the year to encourage them in their studies, expose them to the wide world of STEM fields and propel them to inspire others curious about what opportunities STEM education has to offer.”

2016 class of inaugural STEM Scholars:

Therese Hein, Aurora Central Catholic High School
Patrick Stephen, Bartlett High School
Ally Bowgren, Batavia High School
Daniel Napierkowski, Batavia High School
Evan Pasero, Batavia High School
Audrey Godsell, Crystal Lake South High School
Claire Garretson, Homeschool (Crystal Lake)
Lucas Kulesza, Homeschool (West Chicago)
Mary Pelzer, Joliet West High School
Kate Thompson, Marian Central Catholic
Josie Reed, Oswego East High School
Trisha Sudhakar, Oswego East High School
Kyle Hines, Parkview Christian Academy
Andrew Stutesman, St. Charles North High School
Emma Keicher, Sycamore High School
Kevin Margis, Warren Township High School
Eric Naumann, Yorkville High School
Ben Tholen, Yorkville High School
Faith Twardzik, Yorkville High School

The STEM Scholars program is aimed at creating regular channels of communication between 14th District youth and Congressman Hultgren, including promoting and sharing ideas and presenting solutions to today’s pressing issues, and will include programming specifically designed to expose students to STEM careers and to build STEM leadership qualities and skills. STEM Scholars will grow their leadership skills through presentations, higher-level discussions and on-site visits to some of the 14th District’s premier STEM facilities.