Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


Congressman Randy Hultgren

Representing the 14th District of ILLINOIS

Hultgren Announces Second Annual STEM Scholars Class

Sep 20, 2017
Press Release
Student Ambassadors to Kick Off Program at Elgin Community College

Washington, DC — U.S. Representative Randy Hultgren (IL-14) today announced his second class of 27 STEM Scholars from the 14th Congressional District. The youth leadership program encourages highly-motivated and energetic high school students to become ambassadors in their communities for the possibilities provided by science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). STEM Scholars grow their leadership skills through presentations, higher-level discussions and on-site visits with Representative Hultgren to some of the 14th District’s premier STEM facilities. Representative Hultgren will join the STEM Scholars and his Student STEM Advisors board for their first meeting and hands-on learning experience at Elgin Community College this weekend.

“Our first STEM Scholars program last year was a resounding success, and I can’t wait to get started with this new class of talented and enthusiastic group of students who are interested in exploring and promoting science, technology, engineering and math,” said Rep. Hultgren. “Our upcoming hands-on learning experiences and in-depth discussions with STEM professionals will help spark their imaginations for the possibilities and careers in STEM fields, and propel them to encourage others to do the same. I have enlisted five Student STEM Advisors to mentor students and enhance the continuity and organization of the program. I look forward to learning alongside our next generation of leaders this upcoming year.”

2017 Class of STEM Scholars:
Sofia Ballesteros, Oswego High School
Anthony Bishop, Hampshire High School
Savanna Crowley, Joliet West High School
William Davis, Watkins Homeschool (Kendall County)
Sidney Dickinson, Crystal Lake South High School
Erika Ford, Rosary High School
Brennan Hare, Aurora Central Catholic School
Aden Harzman, Yorkville High School
Siddharth Ketha, Oswego High School
Natalie Koenig, Carmel Catholic High School
Ava Langstaff, Batavia High School
Jessica Lopez, Oswego High School
Sabrina Lutfiyeva, West Chicago Community High School
Sophia McComb, Sycamore High School
Madeline McCormick, Sycamore High School
Ekien Nguyen, Oswego High School
Camila Pereira, Carmel Catholic High School
Connor Rhodes, Illinois Math and Science Academy
Megan Sapita, Sycamore High School
Andrew Scott, Batavia High School
Nathan Sommerfeld, Homeschool (Kane County)
Lucy Tarcha, Carmel Catholic High School
Hannah Thiel, Batavia High School
Emily Vera, Huntley High School
Taylor Volkers, Marengo Community High School
Sophie Walz, Rosary High School
Sean Walz, Marmion Academy

2017 Student STEM Advisors:
Claire Garretson, Homeschool (McHenry County)
Taylor Keeran, Harvest Christian Academy
Patrick Stephen, Bartlett High School
Kate Thompson, Johnsburg High School
Faith Twardzik, Homeschool (Kendall County)

This past school year, Rep. Hultgren and the STEM Scholars worked alongside food flavoring professionals measuring chocolate syrup to see how it mixed and tasted differently with different types of milk, saw first-hand the partnership a local business has with NASA’s Space Launch System which could carry our astronauts to Mars, engaged in hands-on learning with flight simulators, observed the ways in which companies like Caterpillar, Rolls-Royce and Microsoft are collaborating together with dozens of universities in a regional hub in downtown Chicago, and talked to STEM professionals about their careers at a local science museum.