Font Size Down Font Size Up Reset Font Size

Congressman Randy Hultgren

Representing the 14th District of ILLINOIS

Congressional Art Competition

Stay tuned for the submission deadline for the 2018 Congressional Art Competition


The Congressional Art Competition was created in 1982 to showcase art from high school students across the country, and hundreds of thousands of students participated have since then. One winner is chosen from each district, and the winner’s artwork is then sent to Washington, D.C. for display in the U.S. Capitol. The 14th District is filled with talented young artists. Every year, I am impressed by each entry and enjoy highlighting the work of our district’s artistic high school students to visiting constituents touring the Capitol.

Past winners from the 14th District, and nationwide, are featured on the Congressional Art Competition Website.


The rules and regulations included here apply nationwide. Each Member of Congress may issue additional rules for his or her district. Please consult with your Member's office to verify whether any additional rules apply.

The competition is open to high school students only. Exceptions may be made for schools that have 7th through 12th grades on one campus. Teachers and/or students should verify their eligibility with the office of the Member of Congress.

Artwork must be two-dimensional. Each framed artwork can be no larger than 26 inches high, 26 inches wide, and 4 inches deep. If your artwork is selected as the winning piece, it must arrive in Washington, DC, framed. Even when framed, it must still measure no larger than the above maximum dimensions. No framed piece should weigh more than 15 pounds.

Accepted mediums for the two-dimensional artwork are as follows:

  • Paintings: oil, acrylics, watercolor, etc.
  • Drawings: colored pencil, pencil, ink, marker, pastels, charcoal (It is recommended that charcoal and pastel drawings be fixed.)
  • Collages: must be two dimensional
  • Prints: lithographs, silkscreen, block prints
  • Mixed Media: use of more than two mediums such as pencil, ink, watercolor, etc.
  • Computer-generated art
  • Photographs

Each entry must be original in concept, design, and execution and may not violate U.S. copyright laws. Any entry that has been copied from an existing photo or image (including a painting, graphic, or advertisement) that was created by someone other than the student is a violation of the competition rules and will not be accepted.

Work entered must be in the original medium (that is, not a scanned reproduction of a painting or drawing).

How to Submit Your Artwork

To submit your artwork for the Congressional Art Competition, please fill and sign the following release form:

This form must be signed and filled out completely for your artwork to be considered. Your artwork and signed forms must be dropped off in my district office (40W310 Lafox Road, Suite F2, Campton Hills, IL 60175) by 4:30pm on Thursday, April 20, 2017.

Additional guidelines and rules for the Congressional Art Competition:

Winning the Competition

Submitted artwork will be hung at a local gallery for a reception announcing the winners, so please make certain that your artwork is “ready to hang.” (If selected, winners will be required to frame their piece for display in the Capitol Building.) Each winner also receives a roundtrip ticket to Washington, D.C. compliments of Southwest Airlines.

Additional Information

For any additional questions, please contact my Campton Hills Office at (630)584-2734.

Current 14th Congressional District Winner:

L’ARC DE TRIOMPHE by Luke Holwerda, 2017 Contest Winner

Past 14th Congressional District Winners:

UNCLE CUBBY by Anne Jakubowski, 2016 Contest Winner

FEAR NOT by Drake Swift, 2015 Contest Winner

SOAP by Ailysh Cooper, 2014 Contest Winner

TEA PARTY FOR ONE by Avie Churchwell, 2013 Contest Winner

SENIOR SMILE by Carrie Sha, 2012 Contest Winner